Shortlist announced for ABC Sports Awards 2022

Shortlist announced for ABC Sports Awards 2022
Staff reporter


Staff reporter


Former Clann Eireann coach Tommy Coleman and local hockey star Bethany Farrell are amongst the local names nominated for top prizes at the ABC Senior Sports Awards 2022.

Clann Eireann have also been nominated for the top club award after ending their decades-long wait for an Armagh championships and reaching the last four of the Ulster Championship.

The eagerly awaited shortlist has been announced for the awards, which will take place on Thursday, March 3 at the Belmont House Hotel, Banbridge.

Organised by the Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Sports Forum in association with Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council and sponsored by Ulster Carpets, the awards recognise the wealth of sporting talent across the borough and celebrate the achievements of those who have excelled in their chosen sport.

Lord Mayor, Alderman Glenn Barr said, “With 39 shortlisted nominations across eight categories this is a superb indication of the abundance and vibrancy of sporting talent across the borough despite a difficult two years.

“Each nominee should be extremely proud of their achievements and I look forward to the awards ceremony to pass on my congratulations to all those shortlisted.”

The following nominees have been shortlisted with the winners announced at the awards ceremony.

Sports Person with a Disability - Chris Burns (Para Cycling)

Sportswoman of the Year - Kelly Mallon (Camogie, Gaelic Football & Road Bowls), Bethany Harper (Hockey), Jemma Farrell (Rugby).

Sportsman of the Year - Mark Nesbitt (Archery), Kane Tucker (Boxing), Mark Downey (Cycling), Philip Doyle (Rowing), Daniel Wiffin (Swimming), Jordan Leckey (Swimming - Open Water), Russell White (Triathlon)

Senior Team of the Year - Craigavon Cowboys Flag Football Team, Dunbarton Bowling Club Over 55 Rink, Waringstown Cricket Club 1st XI Team, Clann Eireann Gaelic Athlete Club Senior Men’s Football Team, Banbridge Golf Club Ladies Intermediate Cup Team, Ballela Gaelic Athletic Club Senior Hurling Team, Armagh City Football Club 1st XI Team

Senior Coach of the Year - Tommy Coleman (Gaelic Football), David Carleton (Gymnastics), Daniel McCusker (Hurling), Shea Campbell (Football)

Service to Sport: Stephen Curran (Cycling), Joanne Morton (Equestrian), Hubert Watson (Football), David Dodds (Rugby)

Volunteer - Shannon Russell-Cowan (Archery), Kathleen O’Hare (Camogie), Mark Kendall (Cycling), Shaun Casey (GAA), Raymond Reid (Rugby), David Wellwood (Rugby), Ashley Nesbitt (Swimming), Mark Beattie (Football).

Club of the Year - Armagh Athletic Club, Ballyvally Archers, Banbridge, St Brenda’s Camogie Club, Ballymacnab, Banbridge Cycling Club, Banbridge Golf Club

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on Alpha Newspaper Group

Characters left: 1500