Defeat for St Ronan's in basketball final

Defeat for St Ronan's in basketball final
Staff reporter


Staff reporter


Longford’s Ballymahon Vocational School are the U19C Boys All-Ireland Schools League champions, edging St. Ronan’s College 33-29 at the National Basketball Arena on Tuesday.

After a tentative first quarter, which saw both sides struggle offensively, the game burst into life in the second quarter. There was nothing to separate the sides, as they went in at half-time level at 17 points apiece.

In the third quarter a big three pointer from Ballymahon’s Brian Mulvey was the pick of the scores, which saw them go ahead 28-23. 

With less than two minutes to go there was just a point separating the sides, 30-29. A three-point jump shot by Jack Doran, with 1’37 to go, opened up a 33-29 lead for Ballymahon VC and that is how it would finish.

Ballymahon VC captain Jamie Brady was awarded the MVP, while Stephen Devlin from St. Ronan’s College was the game’s top scorer, on ten points.

U19C Boys All-Ireland Schools League final result:

Ballymahon VS 33(17) St. Ronan’s College 29(17)

Top Scorers: 

Ballymahon VS - Jamie Brady 8, Jack Doran 7 and Oran Killian 7

St. Ronan’s College - Stephen Devlin 10, Conal McCann 6, Finn Creery 5


Ballymahon VS: Eoin Kiernan, Brian Mulvey, Jamie Brady (C), Jack Doran, Ben Callan, John McCormack, Aaron Doherty, Ryley Murtagh, Eoin Duffy, Oran Killian, Danny Ryan, Manuel Mateo

Head coach – Ben McCormack 

St. Ronan’s College: Liam Carroll, John McAlinden, Tom Turbitt, Ciaran Maginnis, Liam Donohue, Stephen Devlin (C), Sean McNiece, Conal McCann, Domhnall McConville, Maitui McGibbon, James Donnelly, Finn Creery, Shaun McKenna

Head coach – Caroline McGrath

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on Alpha Newspaper Group

Characters left: 1500